Honorary Founders


Joe Butterfield

L. Joseph Butterfield, MD, FAAP and professor of pediatrics at the University of Colorado was a charter member of the AAP Section on Perinatal Pediatrics and helped found District VIII in 1982.  Joe had many passions and projects and was recipient of many awards during his remarkable career.  Fortunately, District VIII was one of his passions.  He shepherded the organization and then promoted membership to heights that have not been achieved since.  His influence lives on in the efforts of the individuals who knew him.  Joe passed away in 1999.  With establishment of our Education Foundation Endowment in 2005, we were able to recognize his contributions to District VIII by naming him the first "honorary founder" and making a deposit in his name towards this fund-raising effort.   We hope Joe would have been pleased.  We are proud to call him one of our own.



 August L. Jung, MD, FAAP and professor of pediatrics at the University of Utah helped found District VIII in 1982.  Larry brought Utah into the organization and over the years has participated as a long-time Council member and former District Chairman.  As chair of the nominating committee until 2005, he also hand-picked nominees and thereby the elected leadership of the district for most of its history.  His influence is evident in the longevity and continuing success of the organization.   With establishment of our Education Foundation Endowment in 2005, we were able to recognize his contributions to District VIII by naming him an "honorary founder" and making a deposit in his name towards this fund-raising effort.   


W. Joseph Daily, MD, FAAP was a founding member of the District, served as it's Chairman for many tireless years, and has always been instrumental in the development of District VIII as a true representative of excellence and the global organization of care for our region.  Based primarily in Phoenix, AZ, Joe and his colleagues were amongst the first to bring centralized regionalization concepts to neonatal and perinatal care.  Tackling budgets, politics and apathy, Joe achieved creation of a world class system for conduct of Neonatal Intensive Care and Maternal / Perinatal transport.  His role as a teacher and true educator for countless Pediatric Residents and Neonatal Fellows is legendary.  Joe remains active in the District and his sage advice is always both rewarding and enjoyable!

Dr. Douglas McMillan has been one of our longest standing leaders on the Canadian side of the District. Following graduation in Medicine from the University of Alberta in Edmonton, Doug took  a rotating internship and pediatric residency in Calgary before training in Neonatology and pediatric pulmonary disease at the Cardiovascular Research Institute in San Francisco. Returning as a faculty member of the University of Calgary, Doug became involved with the AAP District VIII Section of Perinatal Pediatrics in 1977. He was the first chapter representative from Alberta and assisted in the involvement of Canadians in District VIII conferences attending 23 of the first 27 annual meetings. He was the program chair for the 1987 meeting in Banff and Chairman of the District VIII Section on Perinatal Pediatrics, 1993-1996, and initiatied the drum that remains symbolic of this position. Doug credits his involvement with District VIII with many of his opportunities, and hopes his activities have enhanced those of others. Doug has been instrumental in ensuring the contribution of Canadian Neonatology to the District and has been hugely invested in the regionalization, organization, and promotion of excellence in Neonatal Care in Calgary, Alberta, and, indeed, all of Canada.   Another "born educator" for many Medical Students,  Pediatric Residents and Neonatal Fellows, Doug's sharp witt and excellent, though perhaps "Canadian", humor always makes work, learning, and comraderie extremely enjoyable and hugely rewarding.  Doug has recently moved to Hallifax, in Eastern Canada, but promises to remain loyal to his roots in the District, and it is an honor to have him amongst our Founders, inducted at the 2015 meeting in Victoria, BC.