Information - Idaho

Welcome to the Idaho page!

Your Idaho state representative is Amy Kirk.
The last District VIII conference held in Idaho was in Boise in 2010.
The next District VIII conference to be held here will be in 2024 (save the date)!

 Photo: Aerial view of the Owyhee River, Idaho 

Interesting Idaho Facts

• The deepest gorge in the United States is its Hell's Canyon. It is 7900 feet deep (deeper than the Grand Canyon).
• The Frank Church River of No Return Wilderness is the largest wilderness area in the 48 contiguous states - 2.3 million acres of rugged, unspoiled back country
• Idaho’s Salmon River, known as the "River of No Return" because of its difficult passage, is the nation's longest free-flowing river that heads and flows within a single state.
• The world's first alpine skiing chairlift was (and still is) located in Sun Valley. Built by Union Pacific Railroad engineers, it was designed after a banana-boat loading device. The 1936 fee: 25 cents per ride.
• Five of history's pioneer trails, including the Oregon Trail and the California Trail, cross Southern Idaho. Wagon ruts are still visible all along the rugged terrain.

     

Neonatology in Idaho
Boise

St. Lukes Children's Hospital (NICU Level IIIb, 61 beds     
    Neonatologists:

        Charlene Crichton, MD (crichtoc@slhs.org)
        Nick Harper, MD (harpern@slhs.org)
        Amy Kirk, MD (kirkam@slhs.org)
        Erik Meyers, MD (meyers@slhs.org)
        Declan O’Riordan, MD (oriordd@slhs.org)
        Scott Snyder, MD (snyders@slhs.org)
        Nathan Thornton, MD (thornton@slhs.org)
        James VanLooy, MD (vanlooyj@slhs.org) 
    Nurse Practitioners:
        Tammy Allen, NNP (allenta@slhs.org)
        Cheri Beaumont, NNP (beaumonc@slhs.org)
        Jan Buchanan, NNP (buchanaj@slhs.org)
        Tony Broderick, NNP (broderia@slhs.org)
        Maria Cheatham, NNP (cheatham@slhs.org)
        Elizabeth Gibson, NNP (gibsonel@slhs.org)
        Abby Gray, NNP (grayab@slhs.org)
        LaResa Janousek, NNP (janousel@slhr.org)
                  

                  

 St. Alphonsus RMS (Level IIIb, 24 beds)
    Neonatologists:
        Stewart Lawrence, MD (stewart_lawrence@pediatrix.com)
        Oluyemisi Oyafemi, MD
    Nurse Practitioners:
        Linda Gasser
        Robin Winchester
                                           
Coeur d'Alene  
    Kootenai Medical Center (NICU Level IIa, 6 beds)

    Neonatologists (ph 208-625-5185):
        Kathleen Webb, MD 
        Kimberly Judd, MD
        Pricilla Hancock, MD                    

Idaho Falls
    Eastern Idaho Regional Medical Center (NICU Level IIIb, 24 beds)
    Neonatologists:

        Shannon Jenkins, DO (ph: 208-535-4590)
        Travis Anshutz, MD (ph: 208-535-4592)
        Robin Borghese, MD (ph: 208-535-4591)
    Nurse practitioners:
        Linda Reimers, NNP
        Ginger Jensen, NNP
        Alexis Siddoway, NNP
        Leslie Blanchard, NNP

     

Meridian

    Meridian Medical Center (NICU Level IIb, 12 beds) 
        Staffed by St. Luke’s Boise Neonatology service

     

Pocatello
    Portneuf Medical Center (NICU Level II, 16 beds)
    Neonatologists:

        Brandon Hart, MD (brandon_hart@pediatrix.com)
        Elizabeth O’donnel, MD (Elizabeth_Odonnell@pediatrix.com)
    Pediatricians: (manager’s email: jperry@pocatellochildrens.com)    (ph:208-604-4736)

        Don McInturff, MD
        David Denton, MD
        Bryan Fulks, MD
        Lloyd Jensen, MD
        Jentry Yost, MD
        Laura Duty, MD
        Shaun Summereille, MD
        Creighton Hardin, MD

 

 

Rexberg
    Madison Memorial Hospital (NICU Level IIb, 14 beds) 

    Pediatricians:  (ph: (208) 356-0234)        
        Doug Cotterell, MD (dcottrell@seasonsmedical.com)
        Rob Lofgran, MD (rlofgran@seasonsmedical.com)
        Gene Gates, MD (ggates@seasonsmedical.com)
        Jason Hymas, MD (jhymas@seasonsmedical.com)

Twin Falls
    Magic Valley Medical Center (NICU Level IIIa, 18 beds)
    Neonatologists:

        Jennifer Merchant, MD (merchanj@slhs.org)
        Scott Knight, MD 
    Pediatricians:
        Jared Hansen, MD (jaredh@slhs.org)
        Jack Trotter, MD (doctrot@slhs.org)
        Greg Jones, MD (gregj@slhs.org) 
        Mitch Moffitt, MD (mitchellm@slhs.org)
        Brian Birch, MD (birchbr@slhs.org)